Official Nebraska Government Website Nebraska State Historical Society

Evangelical Lutheran Synod in the Central States

RG2729.AM:  Evangelical Lutheran Synod in the Central States

Minutes:  1868-1961
Size:  7 reels of microfilm


This collection consists of seven reels of microfilm containing the minutes of former synods now constituting the Central States Synod of the United Lutheran Church, including Synod of Kansas and adjacent states, 1868-1954; Nebraska Synod, 1871-1954; Midwest Synod, 1890-1954; and Central States Synod, 1955-1961. The minutes of the Midwest Synod are in German from 1890-1922; from 1922-1932 they are in both English and German; and from 1932-1954 in English. In 1954 the first three synods were merged into the Central States Synod.

The material in this collection relates to the activities of the Lutheran Church in Nebraska, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Kansas and Missouri.

The first six microfilm reels in this collection were purchased from the church archives, Omaha, Nebraska, in November 1958. Microfilm reel 7 was purchased from the American Theological Library Association, New Haven, Connecticut, in June 1963.


Reels 1-2:   Kansas Synod and adjacent states, minutes, 1868-1954

Reels 3-4:   Nebraska Synod, minutes, 1871-1954

Reels 4-6:   Midwest Synod, minutes, 1890-1954

Reel 7:        Central States Synod, minutes, 1955-1961


12-19-2006   Revised TMM


For additional information about this collection, please contact our Library Staff.

NSHS Home  |  Search  |  Index  |  Top
Last updated 13 February 2009

For questions or comments on the website itself, email
Nebraska State Historical Society - P.O. Box 82554, 1500 R Street, Lincoln, NE 68501
Nebraska State Government Homepage
 |  Website Policies  |  © 2009 All Rights Reserved