Official Nebraska Government Website Nebraska State Historical Society

News Release
January 11, 2008

SUBJECT:  New board members, officers, elected to the Nebraska State Historical Society Board

A Peru State College English professor and former state senator began new terms as trustees of the Nebraska State Historical Society (NSHS) January 1. The governing board includes twelve members elected by the membership of the NSHS and three who are appointed by the Governor.

Dr. Dan Holtz, Nebraska City, has taught at Peru State for over twenty years. An Omaha native, Holtz has performed a historical, musical, and storytelling program, "Nebraska through Song and Story," at over 200 locations around the state. He has also directed a teacher institute that focuses on Nebraska's history and literary heritage, and has won the State College Teaching System Excellence Award.

Roger Wehrbein of Plattsmouth, former state senator and Appropriations Committee chair was appointed by Governor Dave Heineman to a three-year term. Wehrbein had previously been appointed to complete the remaining year in the term of another gubernatorial appointee, former state senator Floyd Vrtiska of Table Rock.

Current board members elected to a second three-year term were:

John Schleicher, Omaha, head of special collections at the University of Nebraska Medical Center's McGoogan Library. Schleicher also serves as and adjunct lecturer in history at UNO. His involvement in history includes employment at the Western Heritage Museum, Omaha; the Dodge County Historical Society/May Museum in Fremont; and the Nebraska State Historical Society.

Cheryl L. Clark, Elwood, a real estate broker and former teacher served for two years as the state regent for the Daughters of the American Revolution in Nebraska. She was a member of the Nebraska Commission on the Status of Women for four years. She will serve as first vice president of the board.
Other new officers for 2008 are:

Ken Bunger, Omaha, president. A former city attorney now affiliated with Slusky Law, LLC, Bunger represented the Omaha Landmarks Commission and helped develop local historic preservation ordinances. He is active in the Omaha Corral of Westerners and the Civil War Roundtable and is writing a book on the eighteenth-century military.

Annabelle Brodbeck Marsh, Grand Island, second vice president. Marsh recently served as president of the Central District Health Department Board and has been active in a variety of historical organizations in the Platte Valley.

Frank Balderson, Scottsbluff, treasurer. Balderson practiced law in Alliance for decades, has made public presentations on a variety of historical subjects and has volunteered at the Farm and Ranch Museum near Gering.

The board of trustees oversees the Nebraska State Historical Society, which has been a state institution since 1883 and a state agency since 1994. The NSHS mission is to collect, preserve, and open to all the shared history of Nebraskans. Members and officers will meet at 9:00 a.m., Friday, January 11 at the Nebraska State Historical Society headquarters building, 1500 R Street, Lincoln.

For general information:

Lynne Ireland
Chief Education and Research Officer
Nebraska State Historical Society
1500 R Street
PO Box 82554
Lincoln, NE 68501
402.471.4758 (v)
402.471-3100 (f)

The Nebraska source for the histories we share


NSHS Home  |  Search  |  Index  |  Top
Last updated 11 January 2008

For questions or comments on the website itself, email
Nebraska State Historical Society - P.O. Box 82554, 1500 R Street, Lincoln, NE 68501
Nebraska State Government Homepage
 |  Website Policies  |  © 2008 All Rights Reserved